Carpathian Summer School of Physics 2020

Sinaia, Romania

Sinaia, Romania

Hotel International**** 1st. Avram Iancu Street, Sinaia 106100, Romania
Livius Trache (IFIN-HH)

On Thursday, 26th August there will be a Farewell Dinner&Party held at the hotel Restaurant Panoramic (where we've been eating breakfast and lunch) starting at 19:30! There will be music starting from 20:00. Everyone is invited to come and have fun!


On Wednesday, 18th August there will be a Welcome Dinner held at the hotel starting at 19:30! All participants who have arrived by that time are invited to attend!

A detailed version of the program can now be downloaded below!

Welcome to CSSP20 in 2021!

After one-year postponement due to the Covid-19 pandemic, we are pleased to announce that the Carpathian Summer School of Physics 2020 will take place in the Carpathian resort of Sinaia, Romania. The school will start on August 18, 2021 (arrival and registration) and finish on August 27, 2021 (school ends at noon).

It will be the 29th edition of a tradition that begun back in 1964. The title is "Exotic Nuclei and Nuclear/Particle Astrophysics (VIII). Physics with small accelerators" and is the 8th in the latest series with the same title organized in Mamaia (2005) and Sinaia (2007, 2010, 2012, 2014, 2016 and 2018).

However, the focus will be slightly different as this edition will only have a school format. The size (number of participants) will depend on how many people decide to attend, but our goal is to have a student-to-lecturer ratio of aprox. 3:1.

Lectures will be aimed at mainly giving introductory or overview information on a number of topics. Some are listed bellow:

  • Exotic nuclei/ Nuclear physics with RIBs
  • Nuclear physics for astrophysics
  • Stellar evolution. Compact stars and supernovae
  • Astroparticle physics
  • Physics at ELI-NP
  • Multi-messenger astrophysics
  • Nuclear astrophysics with small accelerators
  • Instrumentation

We encourage students as young as undergraduate level and up to young post-docs to attend and also give oral presentations.

We are presently still accepting abstracts, so any participant interested, should send a one-page-or-less document to our school email.

We can offer a limited number of fellowships for students. You can find more details in the relevant section of the side menu.

Our International Advisory Committee consists of:

T. Aumann (Darmstadt) A. Mackova (Prague)
C. Bertulani (Commerce, TX) N. Marginean (Bucharest)
M. El Eid (Beirut) T. Motobayashi (Tokyo)
Zs. Fülop (Debrecen) A. Petrovici (Bucharest)
U. Garg (Notre Dame) N. Pietralla (Darmstadt)
M. Harakeh (Groningen) T. Sajavaara (Jyvaskyla)
J. Jose (Barcelona) Ch. Scheidenberger (Giessen)
A. J. Jull (Tucson) B. Sharkov (Dubna)
T. Kajino (Tokyo) O. Sorlin (Caen)
K.H. Kampert (Wuppertal) C. Spitaleri (Catania)
K.-L. Kratz (Mainz) H.-A. Synal (Zurich)
W. Kutschera (Vienna) M. Wiescher (Notre Dame)
K. Langanke (Darmstadt) S.J. Yennello (College Station)

The event is supported by the Horizon 2020 projects ENSAR2 and ChETEC-INFRA, is part of the ENNAS (European Network of Nuclear Astrophysics Schools), recognized by the Division of Nuclear Physics of EPS.

It should be well understood that the event may still be cancelled if health conditions worsen in Romania, in Europe or in the countries of many participants. Currently the situation is manageable, and our hopes are that it will improve.


  • Adrian Sorin Mare
  • Adriana Raduta
  • Alexandra Saftoiu
  • Alexandra Spiridon
  • Alexandra-Ionela Stefanescu
  • Alexandru-Nicolae State
  • Alina Badescu
  • Amelia Lindner
  • Carlos Bertulani
  • Ciprian Cosar
  • Codruț-Daniel Badea
  • Cristina Bordeanu
  • Cristina Petrone
  • Daid Kahl
  • Dan Filipescu
  • Daniel Fernandez
  • Dario Lattuada
  • Denis-Iulian Stanca
  • Eugenia Mihaela Coiciu
  • Fan Zhu
  • Florea Nicoleta-Mihaela
  • Giovanni Luca Guardo
  • Gregor Kosir
  • Gustavo Adolfo Alcalá Escalona
  • Helena Pais
  • Ioan Dancus
  • Ioana Gheorghe
  • Ion Burducea
  • Ionut Stefanescu
  • Irina Avram
  • Irina Dinescu
  • Iuliana Stanciu
  • Jose Agustin Lozano Torres
  • Jose Antonio Victoria Fernández
  • Juan Lois Fuentes
  • Julien Lemarié
  • karl-Ludwig Kratz
  • Kazuo Tanaka
  • Kristers Nagainis
  • Laszlo Csedreki
  • Laurentiu Serban
  • Liviu Stoica
  • Lorenzo Roberti
  • Madalina Dobre
  • Madalina Ravar
  • Maria Letizia Sergi
  • Mihai Straticiuc
  • Oprea Andreea
  • Osnan Maragoto Rodriguez
  • Ovidiu Tesileanu
  • Pär-Anders Söderström
  • Radostina Zidarova
  • Radu-Florin ANDREI
  • Raluca Smau
  • Roberta Spartà
  • Rosario Gianluca Pizzone
  • Sofía Sanz Del Pino
  • Stefana Calinescu
  • Sándor Kovács
  • Tamás Szücs
  • Tibor Norbert Szegedi
  • Vlad Vasilca
  • Vladilen Goldberg
  • Yasmine Demane
  • Ákos Tóth